Conroe Drug DWI Attorney
Aggressive Drug Crime Defense in Montgomery County, TX
While drunk driving is indeed illegal, DWI law also prohibits individuals from driving while under the influence of prescription or illicit drugs. Under the Texas Penal Code Section 49.01, "intoxicated" means not having the normal use of mental or physical faculties by reason of the introduction of alcohol, a controlled substance, a drug, a dangerous drug, a combination of two or more of those substances, or any other substance into the body.
If you have been arrested for driving under the influence of drugs, it is urgent you contact Conroe drug DWI attorney Douglas W. Atkinson as soon as possible to protect yourself against serious criminal consequences.
Arrested for drugged DWI? Schedule your free consultation with Douglas W. Atkinson, Attorney at Law today by calling (936) 681-0031 or contacting the firm online.
What Drugs Are Prohibited?
A person may be charged with driving under the influence of drugs if they operate a motor vehicle while impaired by any drug or substance that affects their ability to drive.
You should not drive under the influence of drugs that cause:
- Impaired motor skills
Unlike alcohol intoxication which can be measured by a person's blood alcohol concentration (BAC), impairment from drugs is much more difficult to prove as there is no blood testing standard in Texas. A driver's intoxication is determined on a case-by-case basis at the discretion of the arresting officer and prosecution.
You may be arrested for DWI if impaired by any type or combination of drugs, including but not limited to:
Penalties for Drugged Driving in Texas
Consequences for a drugged driving conviction in Texas will vary depending on the number of prior offenses and whether or not the driver's intoxication resulted in the injury or death of another individual. It is important to note that Texas does not have a "lookback period," meaning that any prior DUI convictions will be relevant for sentencing purposes regardless of when they occurred.
Penalties for drugged driving in Texas include:
- First offense: Up to 180 days in jail, $2,000 in fines, confinement in jail for 72 hours minimum, and potential 1-year driver's license suspension
- Second offense: 30 days to 1 year in jail, $4,000 in fines, and potential 2-year driver's license suspension
- Third offense: 2 to 10 years in jail, $10,000 in fines, and potential 2-year driver's license suspension
Additional penalties may include community service, mandatory drug treatment, DWI school, court costs, and a criminal record. If you are facing drugged driving charges, Conroe drug DWI Attorney Atkinson can help you evaluate your defense options and craft a custom-tailored strategy that minimizes your chances of serving these penalties.
Decades of Experience on Your Side
Not only can a criminal conviction carry serious immediate consequences, but it could also inflict lasting damage to your reputation and impact your future options for employment. It is imperative that you entrust your case to a powerful advocate who can provide the unbiased and aggressive representation you need.
With years of experience and access to the most up-to-date legal resources, Conroe drug DWI attorney Doug Atkinson can help you level the playing field against the opposition's claims and give you a fighting chance. Your future is far too important to leave up to chance. Make sure it is in good hands.
Facing charges for driving under the influence of drugs? Call our Conroe drug DWI lawyer at (936) 681-0031 now to schedule your free consultation.