Conroe Juvenile Crimes Lawyer
Juvenile Crimes in Texas
Juvenile crimes are offenses committed by children aged 10-16 years old. These offenses can range anywhere from a class C misdemeanor up to and including capital murder. Once a person turns 17 in Texas, he/she is legally considered an adult, and any criminal charges will be filed in adult court. Children have their whole lives ahead of them: College, jobs, owning a home and having a family, are just a few of the major milestones ahead for minors. However, having a criminal record at such a young age could tarnish their livelihoods and opportunities down the road if an experienced juvenile defense attorney isn’t brought in to keep their record clean, or their charges reduced to a minimum.
Is your child facing charges for a juvenile crime in Texas? Contact us today to start discussing your defense.
Fighting Texas Juvenile Crime Charges
Seeking a juvenile crimes defense attorney could make a huge difference for the course of your child’s life. At Douglas W. Atkinson, Attorney at Law, the team understands how vital it is for you to harness a committed, resourceful lawyer who delivers valuable insight to your case. Fortunately, Attorney Douglas W. Atkinson is reputable for providing aggressive, personalized defense strategies that serve each unique case justice.
We proudly defend a host of juvenile crimes in Texas, including:
- Curfew violations
- Assault and Aggravated Assault
- False identification
- Disorderly conduct
- Criminal trespass
- Terroristic threat
- Weapons crimes
- Burglary of a vehicle
- Burglary of a home or building
- Traffic violations
- Theft Crimes
- Drug Offenses
- Sex crimes
Juvenile Crime Process
Upon arrest, your child may undergo a frightening encounter with the law, especially if it’s their first time getting into legal trouble.
What can happen if your child is accused of an offense:
- Juvenile Processing Office/Detention Facility: A law enforcement officer may take a juvenile into custody if there is probable cause to believe that the juvenile violated a criminal law, engaged in delinquent conduct or conduct indicating a need for supervision. There is no requirement that an officer obtain an arrest warrant. When a juvenile is taken into custody, the parent or guardian must be promptly notified that the juvenile has been taken into custody and the reason the juvenile was taken into custody.
- Detention Hearings: The court must conduct a detention hearing within 48 hours from when the child was taken into custody. The court will determine whether to continue to detain or to release the juvenile. There is no right to bail in the juvenile system.
- Continued Detention: If the court decides to detain the juvenile, a detention hearing must be held every 10 days to determine whether continued detention is warranted.
- Conditions of Release: If the court releases the juvenile to the parent or guardian the judge will impose conditions of release that must be abided by or the juvenile may be put back in detention. The parent or guardian may also be given conditions by the court
- Charges: Juveniles are not indicted, but rather a petition is filed against them alleging a crime(s) has taken place. The child and his/her parent must be served with a copy.
- Court: Juveniles must be accompanied by their parent/guardian at court. If the case is not resolved, the juvenile is entitled to a trial. If it is found that the juvenile committed the offense a disposition hearing will take place
- Informal Disposition: The probation department may handle the case informally without referral to the prosecutor in certain cases.
- First Offender Program: Participation in this program may involve community service and education, counseling or other rehabilitative services. If the juvenile successfully completes the program, the case is closed and will not be referred to juvenile court.
- Deferred Prosecution: If a juvenile probation officer or other person designated by the juvenile court determines that further proceedings against a juvenile are authorized, the officer may recommend deferred prosecution.
- Commitment to TJJD or Probation: Juveniles face a range of punishment. However, it is not the same as the adult system. Punishment may include commitment to the Texas Juvenile Justice Department until his/her 19th birthday or placement on probation that can last until the juvenile’s 18th birthday.
- Harsher punishments: In certain felony cases, the State may file charges seeking a determinate sentence. In these types of cases, the juvenile is handled in the juvenile system originally and then his/her punishment can be transferred to adult prison. The maximum determinate sentence is forty years. The State may also seek to certify the juvenile as an adult in serious felony cases. In this situation, the juvenile stands trial in adult court and is punished as if they were legally an adult. There are certain procedures the State must follow in both situations.
Experienced Conroe Juvenile Crimes Attorney on Your Side
If the juvenile crime conviction process doesn’t sound daunting enough, you’d be shocked to know that the information above is only an overarching idea of what your child may suffer. Each case is unique, which requires the customized, committed legal counsel that can be found at Douglas W. Atkinson, Attorney at Law. As soon as you get notified by the police of your child’s arrest, contact the firm immediately so an attorney can begin working on securing your child’s well-being and freedom.
Douglas W. Atkinson, Attorney at Law knows how emotional juvenile crime charges can be. Allow the firm to take action during this sensitive time by calling (936) 681-0031.
2nd DWI w/ Open Container Not Guilty
7 Class C Misdemeanor Offenses All Cases Dismissed
Assault Not Guilty
Domestic Violence Dismissed
Domestic Violence Dismissed
Driving While License Invalid. Dismissed
Drug Charge Drug Charge Reduced, Deportation Avoided
Drug Possession Dismissed