DWI Attorney in Walker County
Results-Focused Defense for the Criminally Charged
At Douglas W. Atkinson, Attorney at Law, the founding attorney has defended the rights of drivers arrested for allegedly driving while intoxicated (DWI) throughout Walker County and the surrounding areas in Texas since 1998. He has helped hundreds of clients who are navigating criminal charges, such as DWI. The firm understands that you are in a frightening situation, but legal help is available to aggressively fight the charges against you.
Fighting for a Positive Outcome
Driving while intoxicated (DWI) charges are taken very seriously in Walker County, TX, which means that they are harshly prosecuted. A drunk driving conviction will have a number of consequences, including:
- Driver's license suspension/revocation
- Jail time
- Community service
- DWI education class
- M.A.D.D. Victim Impact Panel
- Court fees
- Increased insurance costs
- Driver's license surcharge fees
A conviction may also result in other side effects, including strain on your personal life, relationships and job opportunities.
Without the help of an experienced, aggressive defense attorney such as Doug Atkinson on your side, you stand little to no chance of avoiding maximum penalties and moving on with your life after a drunk driving arrest.
Take Immediate Action After an Arrest
Taking immediate action after an arrest for driving while intoxicated is your best chance of securing a positive outcome for the charges you are up against. The process involved with DWI charges in Walker County is complex and it is filled with very specific legal restraints and time stipulations. Even the slightest slip in regulation maintenance or prompt attendance could greatly deter your ability to secure reduced or dropped charges regarding your case.
Your best bet after a DWI arrest is to quickly align yourself with a defense attorney on whom you can rely for aggressive legal representation. There are many circumstances of a DWI arrest and criminal charge that need to be scrupulously reviewed. In many cases, a strong defense can be made on your behalf regarding extenuating circumstances at the time that you were pulled over, tested, and taken to jail. These arguments, however, will be seemingly impossible to make without a DWI defense lawyer by your side who can gather evidence and argue on your behalf.
You Only Have 15 Days to Act!
After a DWI arrest in Walker County, Texas, a driver has only 15 days to schedule a hearing with the Department of Public Safety (DPS) regarding the suspension of his/her license. Referred to as an ALR hearing or DPS hearing, this is a key part of the process following a drunk driving arrest. The failure to schedule this hearing will result in the automatic suspension of the driver's driving privileges 40 days after the DWI arrest date.
The outcome of an ALR hearing or DPS hearing can be greatly impacted by having a DWI attorney on your side. By preparing for this hearing as he would a criminal trial and providing steadfast legal counsel, attorney Atkinson has been able to achieve stellar results for a number of clients.
2nd DWI w/ Open Container Not Guilty
7 Class C Misdemeanor Offenses All Cases Dismissed
Assault Not Guilty
Domestic Violence Dismissed
Domestic Violence Dismissed
Driving While License Invalid. Dismissed
Drug Charge Drug Charge Reduced, Deportation Avoided
Drug Possession Dismissed