Conroe Robbery Defense Lawyer
What Constitutes a Robbery Offense in Texas?
In the state of Texas, you could be charged with robbery or aggravated robbery, which is often called armed robbery. To be charged with robbery in Texas, you must have committed theft while intentionally, knowingly or recklessly causing harm or injury to another person. The offense could also involve an intentional or reckless threat to another person to cause them injury or death.
Committing theft involves taking property and in Texas, property is considered any tangible or intangible personal property of another person. This includes things growing from land or documents that have value.
For a Texas robbery offense to be considered aggravated, you must have:
- Caused serious bodily injury to the victim
- Caused bodily injury, threatened bodily injury or caused fear of injury or death to an elderly or disabled person
- Used a deadly weapon in the offense
If you have been arrested for robbery in Texas, contact us today to start your defense.
Understanding the Statutes Associated with Your Charge
To be convicted of any type of Texas robbery offense, there must have been an intentional, knowledgeable or reckless mental state when the offense was committed. The definitions of these mental states are found in Texas Penal Code § 6.03. Intentional means that it was the person's desire or conscious goal to perform the act.
Knowingly means that the person was aware of their conduct and are reasonably aware of the results that would follow. Recklessly means that the person committed the act while aware that the conduct could cause the result, but disregarded that the result would occur. If you have been charged with robbery or aggravated robbery in Texas, team up with a Conroe criminal defense lawyer from Douglas W. Atkinson, Attorney at Law.
What are the Penalties for Robbery in Texas?
The general robbery crime is charged as a second degree felony offense in Texas. This crime is punishable by a prison sentence between two and 20 years along with a fine of up to $10,000. An aggravated robbery offense in Texas is charged as a first degree felony with greater penalties.
This offense is punishable by a prison sentence between five and 99 years (life in prison) and a fine of up to $10,000. The statutes that provide the robbery provisions can be found in Texas Penal Code Title 7, Chapter 29.
Building a Powerful Defense
The prosecutor in a robbery case has the duty to prove that the defendant committed theft beyond a reasonable doubt. This means that there cannot be "reasonable doubt" in the mind of an average or reasonable person that the person in question is guilty of the crime. This does not mean that the burden of proof is beyond a shadow of a doubt; that would entail that there is no doubt.
There can be doubt in the case, but not that would affect the belief of a reasonable person that the defendant is indeed guilty. With the help of a skilled criminal defense attorney, you may be able to cast a significant amount of doubt in your case. Some of the defenses that we can make on our clients behalf, include:
- Our client lacked intent
- Our client lacked knowledge
- There was no instance of bodily injury in the offense
- The victim did not have the fear of bodily injury or death
Work with Conroe Robbery Attorney Doug Atkinson Today!
Texas robbery crimes have harsh penalties, you need the help of an experienced and aggressive criminal defense lawyer in Conroe. Contact Douglas W. Atkinson, Attorney at Law for the legal representation that you need. The legal team may be able to build a solid defense and cast enough doubt to have your charges reduced or even dismissed.
Facing charges for robbery in Texas? Call today to schedule a consultation and discuss your case!
2nd DWI w/ Open Container Not Guilty
7 Class C Misdemeanor Offenses All Cases Dismissed
Assault Not Guilty
Domestic Violence Dismissed
Domestic Violence Dismissed
Driving While License Invalid. Dismissed
Drug Charge Drug Charge Reduced, Deportation Avoided
Drug Possession Dismissed