Second Offense DWI Attorney in Walker County
Are you facing your second drunk driving offense?
Having a prior DWI conviction on your record will result in increased penalties if you are arrested and convicted for a second offense DWI in Walker County. When facing enhanced penalties and a longer driver’s license suspension, a Walker County DWI attorney can make all the difference in the actual penalties you face – and can help you avoid a conviction altogether.
Don’t waste any time in consulting a DWI defense lawyer if you have been arrested for a second drunk driving offense. A second DWI offense in Walker County, Texas is a Class A Misdemeanor offense. The penalties for this include:
- Fine of up to $4,000
- 80 hours to 200 hours of community service
- 30 days to 1 year in jail
- Driver’s license suspension for 180 days to 2 years
- Ignition interlock device installed in vehicle
Any prior DWI conviction, even one from more than 10 years ago, may count on your record and result in increased penalties for a second DWI offense. Additionally, if you wish to obtain an occupational driver’s license you must wait at least 1 year after your conviction to apply.
Contact a Walker County DWI Lawyer
Since 1998, Douglas W. Atkinson has been providing clients with his services as a knowledgeable defense attorney. An experienced DWI lawyer, Mr. Atkinson is able to thoroughly review a client’s second DWI charge in order to determine what the best route will be to take in providing effective DWI defense. This may be to contest the results of field sobriety tests or blood or breath tests, depending upon the circumstances. Every DWI case is different, and as such it is important that he take time to review your particular charges.
The firm offers a free consultation to discuss your second offense DWI charges with you. He takes on cases throughout all of Walker County, including Dodge, Huntsville, New Waverly and Riverside, Texas.
Contact a Walker County DWI attorney regarding your second DWI offense today!